Where to begin?

I’ve been dreaming of really working hard on the schoolhouse for a long time.

I have always wanted it to be this great place where friends and family can visit and hang out. Now, if people visit, they generally cock their head to one side or raise an eyebrow and go, “huh…” or “I bet this place used to be great.”

Perhaps it is the peeling paint on the doors and window sills. Or the eavestrough hanging in a perpendicular fashion to the roofline, nowhere near the eaves and not acting as troughs. It might even be the fantastic brown stains left on the bedroom ceilings after a few roof leaks some years back. Whatever the cause I want to uncock those heads, lower those eyebrows and get more of those open-mouthed gapes of amazement.

So now it is time to hit the ground running. The time is now. I am hoping to wrap up and prepare some gardens this fall and over the winter putter on some indoor projects and plan for the spring.

In order to inspire our instructor in my Social Media Marketing class wants us to look for at least three blogs or websites to act as inspiration for our projects. Here is what I am going for:

The Old School House

This is a blog from a family in the United States who has renovated a schoolhouse with pretty amazing results. For some reason I’ve never really thought about integrating the school theme into the design. This family has done that in spades, from the chalkboard backsplash in the kitchen to the labels on the doors to particular rooms. I think of this as a great example of what you can accomplish with time and passion.

From Neglected Schoolhouse to Chic Cottage — Country Living

This is what happens when people think a bit too hard about what they want to accomplish. I like what these two guys did to renovate this New York State schoolhouse in a sense but it feels really over the top in its decorating. Or at least it isn’t in a style with which I normally go. I am way too clumsy to have that much bric-a-brac just sitting around. I know more than a few people who would love this but this example serves, at least for me, as an example of what I don’t want to do.

Classic School House Converted into Contemporary Home

Now this design is very interesting. At Dornob, a blog about design, they provide an example of a 18th century schoolhouse that has a very modern internal renovation coupled with an addition. I’ve toyed with the idea of keeping the main portion of the schoolhouse intact and basically add another house on the back. This design by Faleide Architects of Denver is very interesting. I don’t know if this would work on our property but the idea of merging old and new like this is pretty cool.

All of these concepts are years and thousands of dollars away. I think it is a good idea to look at where this could go and then figure out a plan of action.

10 thoughts on “Where to begin?

  1. The schoolhouse has so many great childhood memories for me. I will always remember your Grandmother hosting a whole group of us Brownies and helping us all get our Baking Badge – what were we, 11? The smell of fresh bread, reminds me of her. I like the 3 site you have chosen. Look forward to seeing your progress. Good luck, Ariel.

  2. Pingback: A little scholarly inspiration | MySchoolhouseRocks

  3. Funny. We lived in Lakefield in a house that needed renovations, all the while hoping that I would return to Toronto as a communications professional… ;)

    It’s quite an endeavor to get things done but it sounds like a great project!

    Best of luck with it!

  4. just stumbled upon your little blog here…this sounds like such a COOL project! it sure will be a BIG project..but the way i see it, is the longer it takes, the more you’ll love it in the end and the sweeter the results! Cant wait to watch the progression! :D

Leave a Reply

