School is open

Here it begins. My first post. I’ve never been known to enjoy a blog. In fact I hate them. So with this one, I am stepping out of my comfort zone to share my latest project for school and for my schoolhouse.

I’m currently taking a Social Media Marketing course at George Brown College and I’ve been tasked with creating a blog as a part of a project. I thought I would combine this newish medium with a very old piece of property.

I own a 1929 red brick schoolhouse in the Kawarthas. It has been in my family since 1970 and while I don’t live there full time now, I hope to someday. It is rapidly falling into disrepair and I am no handyman. I need to keep up the work around the house and eventually do some major renovations down the road. So here is my idea

  • I seek advice and support from the online community.
  • I’ll take all advice and see if it workable, affordable and not too harmful.
  • I’ll post my progress both inside and out and anyone who wants to come along for the ride is welcome.

So if you have any ideas I want to hear them. Or read them as the case may be.

2 thoughts on “School is open

  1. Wow! What an undertaking! (the house AND the blog) Our house was built in 1897 and the previous owners cut a lot of corners with their projects, so we’ve definitely had our moments of feeling “in over our heads” while trying to undo what they did wrong, modernize our tiny house AND capture the whole process for our blog!

    Good Luck!!!

Leave a Reply

