Something old, something new

So what do you do when you have a taste for antiques and modern design?

los angeles antiques show

I’ve been wrestling with this for a while. I have some old stuff and I like a lot of new stuff. How do these things work together? Can I use an Eames molded plastic chair with my harvest table?

I think the schoolhouse will have a decidedly antique combination from various eras but the ol’ condo needs a more modern feel. I can’t Pat sitting in an old Victorian high back chair playing Halo can you?

According to House Beautiful I can if I don’t do too much in one space. I guess that makes sense. Half modern and half something else would look too cut and paste

Do Opposites Attract?

The folks at 2Modern say if you have a plan and a theme (say a colour or other type of connection) then it can work.

More on mixing modern and antique

And over here on Blissfully Domestic, there are even two examples of modern chairs with traditional tables like I mentioned earlier.

Mixing antique and traditional furniture styles

It seems the running theme here is that you need to plan your style, choose carefully the type and quantity of each style you like, and be creative throughout the process.

Leave a Reply

