Humming along

Last year saw the demise of our hummingbird feeder.

Hummingbird

Apparently we were attracting that rare breed of hummingbird that looks a lot like more like a black bear. And they have a little more force behind them than their ruby-throated counterparts.

So I just bought myself a new hummingbird feeder. Stopped off at the Urban Nature Store in Etobicoke and saw this feeder. With a name like this, it has to be good right?

Best Number 1 Hummingbird Feeder

We have had a feeder for as long as I can remember. We would sit on the front porch and quietly wait for that unmistakable buzz and watch the hummers dive bomb each other. It is always so tough to tell if you have one or a family around because they all look alike. This feeder has a measurement down the side that states if you watch the use within a 24-hour period you can determine the number of birds you have. I am curious to find out how many might appear.

1/4000th of a second

I have always admired their desperate efficiency though I have admired it from my comfortable lawn chair, generally with a beverage in hand. Fuelled by sugar, they are much less annoying than a sugar-driven child or drunken stumbler who just won’t quit trying to get out of said lawn chair.

If you don’t know much about feeding hummingbirds, here is a nice little site with loads of information I could repeat ad nauseum but it is easier if you just visit them.

Hummingbirds.net

This site also has a nice list of plants that help attract hummingbirds. I can personally attest to the benefits of the butterfly bush. It is a humdinger!

I placed my feeders in the apple tree at the front of the house as it has always been there. Let’s hope my little friends return.

7 thoughts on “Humming along

  1. Pingback: let the sun shine in | the home tome

  2. We have tons of hummingbirds – or just one! I’m not quite sure! They are fast little suckers, but I do love having feeders for them and will def. check out the plant list. I concur that they are “much less annoying than a sugar-driven child!” haha!! That was very funny….and unfortunately for me, only TOO true! 😉

  3. Pingback: If you feed them, they will come | MySchoolhouseRocks

Leave a Reply

