New for the garden in 2013?

Like the new blossoms of spring, my mailbox is starting to unfurl its bounty of seed catalogues.

Forget me nots

It’s that time of year when you can start thinking about what to do in the garden this year. I’ve got a few ideas and a few things to finish up from last year. And the year before. And the year before that…

Beyond the chronic weeding that will have to take place I want to finish off my perennial beds at the front corner and along the side of the house. It’s time to get these guys done already.

I wondered what might be new in the old garden centres this year so have been looking at some of the new plants of 2013.

Of course Canada Blooms is coming up so I can always make a trip down there. Not a huge fan of these shows but they are pretty to look at after a bland winter.

According to Better Homes and Gardens there are several new “Must-Grow New Perennials for 2013” including some new Dianthus, anemone, and the all-too popular hardy hibiscus that everyone seems to have now.

If you want to go for seeds, Stokes has a nice selection for this year. I like the lavender but I’ll go with a well-formed plant as seeds are rarely my pals.

According to the US Perennial Plant Association, this year’s perennial of the year is a variegated Solomon’s Seal. Not my cup of tea but different strokes and all of that.

Well this gives me a few ideas but I’ll spend a few days stewing on it and dreaming about spring.

Leave a Reply

